Your love is better than life!

Standard

Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. -Psalm 63:3-4

Last night in my women’s Bible study group we talked about the great power of Jesus and how daily we need to remind ourselves that His power is greater than any challenge that we are facing. There is nothing that we should fear when we believe. So true is that statement where power is replaced by love. With the beginning of February and such a love surrounded season, I will be posting on the theme of God’s love for us.

The psalmists affirms God’s love. It is better than life. No argument there. Life is hard and mostly overwhelming. There are unexpected twists and turns. Hurts, misunderstandings and heartache. But rejoice and breathe because God is better than all of that. Remember, the conclusion of the Bible study??

Every hurt that I have come through successfully on the other side was because of God and His love. This last year was really hard for me mentally and emotionally. My thesis work was getting me down. I felt that I was consistently failing and letting everyone down. I kept trying, and trying, and trying to no avail. I couldn’t shake the feelings of worthlessness. Finally, I found myself in this darkness angry with God and questioning where He was in all of it. I felt like a bad version of Job. I argued back with God. It didn’t make sense why He had opened the doors for me to go to graduate school, transfer and then leave me feeling helpless. I didn’t see the point in all of the pain and self-doubt. Especially since the person I was didn’t feel like me. But after enough grumbling, I decided that I had to surrender. I had to trust. I had to trust God’s love for me. It shouldn’t be hard for us to trust God’s love because it is unfailing but we still do sometimes. Don’t we? Like it is too good to be true.

I would go on further to say that God’s love is bigger than life. But because of His love, the promise to allow only glory to escape our lips is made. He deserves nothing less than our praise. Every moment, every day and every blessing comes from Him. We should have a hard time keeping our praises quiet because of all the overwhelming joy and overfilled cups. But when we are in those dark places or feel alone it is hard to acknowledge that we are lovable. We deserve love and we have a God that is ready to shower us with love. And a love that transcends any earthly love.

Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. -Psalm 63:3-4

Leave a Reply

